Time Lapse on Patreon: Snow Study on Canson “Touch”

Click here to go to Patreon for the time lapse, high res image.

I’ve been doing snow studies for a couple of one-day online workshops I have coming up on December 3 and January 14. This one was done on Canson Mi-Teintes Touch, a surface I’m only recently exploring. I’ve figured out that it works best for me when I do a little initial blending and then finish with direct marks with the pastel sticks. The Touch surface can be really gritty, and it feels quite different from other sanded surfaces I’ve used. I think it will work quite well on a larger scale. A tiny painting like this takes some finesse. I’m happy with the results! I am curious to try it full size, though.

I’ve got several sheets in different colors. This first one is a warm flannel gray that I cut into 8×10″ and 4×6″ sizes, just to try it. I think I have one 11×14″ cut in this one, too. It definitely calls for a loose, painterly approach, which is great since that’s what I’ve been working toward over the last few years. It’s a good stretch!

Leave a comment