Pentel Clic Eraser Info

Another artist once told me it was possible to “simply erase pastels,” and I’ve been developing different techniques with erasers ever since. The retractable holder is a particularly cool tool I discovered by necessity. I’ve been using Pentel’s ZE80 “Clic Eraser” (spelled without a “k,” just like that) for years, and I really like it.

As of this writing, you can get the ZE22 “Clic Eraser” from Blick for $2.40, and a couple of refills cost just over two bucks. Staples has it, too, but it seems like a lot more money. Office Depot sells a multipack.

The difference between the ZE80 and the ZE22  (or ZE21) is that the 80 has a square barrel and refill, and the 22 is cylindrical. I started out with the ZE22 when I was in the U.S. but I couldn’t find it in Taiwan, so I grudgingly went with the ZE80 that was available there. Turns out, I really like the square shape of the 80, as it offers a new/sharper corner even as the tip wears down. Now that I’m back in the States, I can’t find the ZE80! (I’ll mention that in my workshop materials lists!)

Any Pentel Clic Eraser will work: the ZE21/22 or the ZE/80. The refills are the same great material, and anything that allows you to wield an eraser like a pencil or paintbrush has all kinds of advantages. (FYI: There’s apparently a ZE33 out there, too, but I’ve not tried it.)

For hand-held erasers (the usual block kind), I use the Prismacolor Magic Rub. You can also use Alvin’s vinyl eraser. Eminent Pastelist Rita Kirkman (IAPS, PSA) recommends the Factis eraser (by General) and says it makes essentially zero eraser dust! You can get it at Blick, too. Once I wear out my Prismacolor, I’m going to try one. Apparently, they also make a Factis retractable “mechanical” eraser, but it looks to be about half the thickness of the Pentel, which probably wouldn’t stand up to my relatively rough treatment!

Have you tried others? Let me know in the comments how you like them.

Leave a comment